Mila 2.0 (MILA 2.0 #1)-Debra Driza

MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)

Mila 2.0 (MILA 2.0 #1)

Debra Driza
HarperCollins UK
Pub Date: Mar 28 2013

 

 

My rating:
5 star book

Mila has just moved to a little town with her mother after her dad got killed in a fire. She has a hard time fitting in until a new boy arrives at school. Mila and Hunter get along right away and Mila finally starts feeling like she could have a good year. But after a pretty serious fall she finds out an uncomfortable truth about herself, she’s not a person of flesh and bones, but an android. And not just any android, a military grade android of huge value. How do you deal with finding out that your whole life is a lie in the midst of avoiding capture?

 

This book was just off the hook! I really loved it! It was a great mix of teen angst and exciting escape manoeuvres that just kept me wanting more. I finished reading this book pretty fast just because I was so into this universe and could very easily imagine what Mila was going through. The one thing that irked me in this book was Mila’s desire to disobey her mother. Clearly her mother knows best and this is just such a common point in books and I just get very frustrated by it.

 

The story was very well thought out, I loved every aspect of the story. There were so many different layers to the book that it was definitely interesting all the way through. It was a plotline I never really read before and there were a good number of twists to keep the story away from cliché storylines. It’s the first book in a series and I’m extremely excited to read the next book even though it will be a while before that comes out.

 

Considering that the main character turned out to be an android I was very easily on par with Mila. I was there with her and could sympathise with how she felt. Only her constant desire to disobey her mother was slightly annoying, but it still felt real. I haven’t met many sixteen year old people who do everything their mother tells them, so that’s nothing new. The other characters in the book were definitely interesting but I did feel as if we only got to know them to a certain extent. I definitely hope to find out more about Hunter.

 

There was a very constant high paced flow throughout the book, which I really liked, especially for this type of story. Mila’s feelings are important but it was only correct that they never had that much time to take over her thoughts because there was so much else going on. There was a really good balance between what was happening and what Mila was thinking. It was never overtly descriptive, but the way things were described were done so creatively.

 

If you are a fan of the sci-fi genre I really recommend this book. It’s a lot of fun to read and it will take barely any time at all.

3 thoughts on “Mila 2.0 (MILA 2.0 #1)-Debra Driza

  1. I’m a fan of sci-fi! I ordered this one a month ago, and I’m counting down the days until I get it in the mail :D I’m glad you loved it, because it makes me even more excited to read it!

Say something!

