The magician’s nephew (Chronicles of Narnia #1) – C.S. Lewis

The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia, #6)

The Magician’s Nephew

C.S. Lewis
The Bodley Head
Pub Date: May 2 1955

 

 

 

 

My rating:
4 star book

 

Digory and Polly are tricked by Digory’s strange uncle to wear rings that teleport them out of this world. Soon they find themselves in a forest with a lot of shallow pools. Not long after they figure out that the pools are all portals to different worlds and together they decide to discover a new world.

 

This book is meant to be read as a night time story in my opinion. It’s just written in the sort of tone that sounds best when read aloud. This doesn’t mean that the book isn’t good at all though. As you can see from my rating I definitely enjoyed the book and will be reading the others in the series soon. I do think that I would have enjoyed this book slightly more if I had been a child when I first read it.

 

The storyline is very interesting, though I had heard the very basic outline of this story I couldn’t really tell where things were going. That’s always a good first sign. The story hopped around a bit but it never got confusing. I did like the hopping around because it just felt right in a book for children. It would be vastly confusing if they had multiple storylines continuously circling around each other. Now it just pulled the storylines open a bit, to give it some breathing space. And it definitely shed some light on how the world of Narnia came to be.

 

I don’t have a great deal to say about the characters. I have to admit that I found the book to give less character information than I usually like in books. on the other hand I can honestly say that I didn’t really mind the characters being a little less in depth. To me it just felt as if they didn’t really have that arc that I tend to look for. But the story definitely compensated for that.

 

In all honesty I have to say that I always had this thought in the back of my head that it was just a children’s book. In a way I think this made me a little less critical towards the book. It’s also very hard for me to judge how much I would like it if I had been a child when I read it for the first time as well. But I think that I would have liked it seeing as I still like it today.

One thought on “The magician’s nephew (Chronicles of Narnia #1) – C.S. Lewis

  1. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

