2013 Reading Resolutions

Seeing as I really do love reading and reviewing, I thought this was a great time for me to set some goals for myself as to what I want to accomplish this year.

I don’t have any previous resolutions about which I can tell you how well or badly I did. So that will have to wait until next year. The only goal I had set for myself was to read 50 books this year. So far I have read 59 books (as you can now see on my newly added widget on the right hand side of this page). Though I do hope to finish one more book, and I’m very close to doing so, before the end of the year. You can also find a list of all the books I have read in 2012 here.

 

I want to read

1.  100 books in 2013.

I think I definitely can accomplish this, at this moment I have nearly read 60 books. This means I will just have to raise the bar for myself. Seeing as this year I had certain months in which reading just didn’t work out for me well, I think this really should be able to make it. And it’s not fun if It’s not even a little bit of a challenge.

2.  at least 5 classics, some of which I have been wanting to read for a very long time now.

At this time I really want to read: Emma (though I once started reading this book and just haven’t gotten around to reading it), the Great Gatsby, Moby Dick, Heart of Darkness and A separate peace ( a book that I read a long time ago and really want to find and read again!)

3. half of the unread books I have lying around in my room.

This list of 47 books includes but is not limited to:

  • The lost symbol
  • the discovery of heaven
  • gritts
  • the glass of time
  • all together dead
  • the amber spyglass trilogy
  • all the Narnia books
  • house of leaves

This will definitely help me towards my goal of reading 100 books this year. Of course I will try to read more than half of these books but I also have a lot of e-books that are begging to be read.

I  want to review

4. at least half of the books I read, preferably more.

Sometimes it’s pretty pointless to review a book because it’s in Dutch and not yet translated into any other language. Also some books I just haven’t gotten around to reviewing or don’t really know how to review. But if I review every book I read this year, I should have nearly enough books to post 2 reviews per week instead of the 1 I do now. So that leads me to my next goal:

5. two books per week

I will really try to do this, and I think it could work, I’ll just have to plan it out a bit more. But I’m hoping this will definitely make me committed to reading more books and get my rate up.

So these are my resolutions for this year. I really do hope I will be able to keep them and that I will still enjoy reading while doing so.

 

I wish you all the best for the new year, that many good books may be published and that we all keep our resolutions!

Say something!

