A Christmas carol – Charles dickens

A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol

Charles Dickens
Chapman & Hall
Pub Date: 19 December 1843

 

 

 

My rating:
4 star book

 

Scrooge is a bitter old man. He doesn’t like Christmas, he doesn’t like people. The only thing he really likes is money. But things are about to change when he comes home on Christmas Eve to find Marley’s ghost. Marley tells him he will be visited by three spirits. They are the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Yet to Come. And so they do.

 

I thought now was a great time to read this book, seeing as it is the holiday season. I really liked the book but the writing was not exactly my cup of tea. But it was great story to have read in this time of year.

 

The story was very straightforward and I really liked it. I loved how Scrooge was made to see sense because of what the three ghosts showed him. It did a very good job of conveying what Scrooge felt and why he had to change. It was also definitely a story that got me into the Christmas feeling.

 

I really liked Scrooge even though he was such a bitter old man. But I especially loved him during the trips he takes with the Spirits, how he acts when he sees what they show him. I found it to be very realistic.

 

As I mentioned before the writing was not really my favourite. Sometimes it just sort of wandered off and though I don’t always mind this, I sometimes felt that it went on a bit too long for my liking. At times I found the writing to be a bit woolly. This probably has to do with how old the book already is, but I do have to be honest and say that it bothered me a little at times.

 

I know this is a bit of a short review, I just don’t have that many things to say about this book other than I liked it a lot except for the writing. It was definitely a classic that I have always wanted to read, and now I finally did.

 

I wish you all a very merry Christmas!

Say something!

