Ruby Sparks – Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris

Ruby Sparks PosterRuby Sparks

Writer: Zoe Kazan
Directors: Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris

Release Date: July 25 2012 (USA)

 

 

My rating:

 

5 star movie

 

 

 

A young novelist, Calvin, who has had a lot of success in the past is out of inspiration. While he is struggling with writer’s block he visits his therapist who tells him to write about a person who likes his dog, Scotty. What happens next is something no one saw coming. the girl Calvin wrote about comes alive.

This was a great movie. The story was definitely something new, at least as far as I know, and it was really fun at that. I do admit that certain things didn’t always make complete sense, but on the other hand, this is clearly not a movie to be taken all that seriously, so I was able to put those things aside fairly easily.

 

I really liked the actors in this movie, they weren’t the most famous of actors, but I liked that. They did a great job, especially the actress for Ruby Sparks. She really made a realistic character out of it, as well as doing a great job with those mood changes later on. The actor who was portraying Calvin also did a really great job. His emotions seemed very real and believable.

 

The storyline in the movie was very interesting. As I said before, I have never read or seen a story like this one and I thought it was really good. I also liked the moral questions it raised for the characters in the movie. Even though this situation will never be reality, I think we might have all asked ourselves these kind of questions, along the lines of “would you  do a certain thing if you could?” To me it really felt like a complete story and I found the ending to be very interesting and good. 

 

All in all I really enjoyed watching this movie and would happily watch it again.

 

Let me know what you think about this movie if you’ve gone to watch it!

Say something!

