Once Upon A Time – Adam Horowitz, Edward Kitsis

Autumn is nearly upon us, and we all know what that means: the start of a new season for pretty much every TV series! Therefore I will be doing a series of reviews on TV shows which I’m really excited to see this autumn.

One day Emma Swan is contacted by a little boy, Henry. It turns out to be her biological son that she gave up for adaption right after his birth. She brings him home to the town of Storybrooke where he begs her to stay. Because only Emma can help the people of Storybrooke. The people in this little town used to be the inhabitants of a magical land where they were the leading roles in the fairytales we all know and love. But they have been banished to Storybrooke by the Evil Queen and once they arrived in Storybrooke they all forgot who they were. Once Upon a Time is a series that explores the story of fairytale characters, outside of what we know, while Henry tries to make Emma believe in the curse of Storybrooke so she can save everyone.

I for one have always loved fairytales, I could not get enough of them, and I don’t think I’m alone in this. This series just plays right into that love. It shows us all the characters we have read about so often and gives an explanation as to why the Evil Queen hates Snow White so much, or what the truth is behind the Wolf that haunts Little Red Riding Hood. I found a lot of these backstories interesting and fun, though not all of them were as great as I hoped/expected.

I loved Emma’s character along with most other characters in the series. There weren’t any characters that I didn’t like in this show, though some just left me a bit indifferent. I absolutely love Prince Charming and Snow White, in Storybrooke as well as in the fairy tale world. And the Evil Queen and Rumplestiltskin were great as well.

It was great how the show alternated between the real world and the fairytale world, it brought a nice change and it showed the contrast between the fairytale characters and how they were in Storybrooke. I thought that the time shown in both realms were enough to give you that feel of how things were going there but it didn’t last so long that you were endlessly waiting for what was happening on the other end.

This TV show was really a lot of fun, but I have to say that the last episode of the first season kind of ruined it for me. I will be watching the second season, but it won’t be as wholeheartedly as I watched the first one. The first season was filled with good episodes with some episodes that were a little less good, but none were as bad as the last one. I found this to be very disappointing, because to me it felt very rushed all of the sudden. I certainly hope that the second season will make up for that very rushed ending.

Season 2 will start on 30 September 2012.

Say something!

