City of Lost Souls – Cassandra Clarre (Part 5 in the Mortal Instrument Series)

So Jace has just run off with Sebastian and everybody is stumped about where he is and why he did so. Soon they find out that the connection Lilith wanted to make has been completed, meaning that Jace is not himself anymore. Everyone is out looking for Jace when one night he and Sebastian just show up at Luke’s place. Jace asks Clary to join them which she refuses and the night ends in a brawl. Later Clary does join him in the hope of finding out what Sebastian is planning. In the meantime everyone back home is trying to find a way to separate Jace from Sebastian because neither can be killed without killing the other.

This is the fifth installment in the series and I have to say that I find the plotline to be a bit less interesting than in the previous books. I still enjoyed reading this, but there were definitely times when I thought nothing much was happening in the book. These were often parts that for me could have been left out. I was definitely wanting for more action, more twists, more life in the book. To me this book was a little bit of a let down.

I did like the storyline for the most parts though some parts just could not hold my interest. The book could definitely have done with some more interesting side stories. But the main story was still good. I just thought the book was a bit more character centered than it had to be. A bit more focus on the adventure would have been nice.

I’m not going to review the characters again, I have done so in the reviews for the previous books and not much has changed since then. I’m just really starting to dislike Clary a bit more with every book I read. But that just means I can love Simon and Magnus that much more.

This is the last book of the Mortal Instrument Series that is out so far. I will review the last one when it comes out, just like I will be reviewing the Infernal Devices Series, but right now I’m going to focus on books by other authors for a while.

 

Next week: Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi

Say something!

