Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

Anna is sent to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. She is not at all pleased that her father is doing this to her, taking her away from her best friend Bridgette, her mother and brother, and a potential boyfriend even. But soon after arriving she meets Meredith who introduces her to a couple of people, Rashmi, Josh and St. Clair. Etienne St. Clair is irresistible and taken. Soon Anna and Etienne become close friends whic just makes everything more complicated. What will happen to Anna in this romantic city during her senior year, and most importantlyn with who?

This book has been recieving so many glowing recommendations that I just had to read it. But somewhere I was a bit doubtful that this book might have been hyped up more than it was worth. Thankfully this book was as good as everybody is saying that it is. I just absolutely loved it!

This book has a little bit of everything, it has descriptions of the city, romance, humor, heart-ache and that confusion that is so typical for teenagers. And the best part of having all of this in the book that it is all done so well. Never did I think “enough with describing the city” or “stop with the drama”. It was just combined so perfectly that it was a delight to read.

The pacing in this book was very nice, it was pretty fast paced and it never had any parts that could have been skipped. Anything and everything mentioned in the book was there for a reason, making it so that the story never slowed down to include things of no importance.

It was a very easy read, I just flew through this book! I would have read it in one sitting had it not been for work. I just wanted to read more and find out how the story would end. And if there were any fancy words that were being used in the book (in Bridgette’s emails) they were always explained, which I really liked! I have to admit that I am often too lazy to look up words that I don’t know, but this does tend to leave me with that slight unsatisfied feeling if this happens too often. And this was the perfect solution, I never had to look up the words, but they were explained in a very non-disruptive way.

The characters were very real and so were there problems. I loved Anna and the rest of the crew, each in their own way. I think I especially liked them all so much because they are kind of self-centered at some point. I know that sounds weird, but let me explain. The characters all have this time where they sort of shut themselves off from the outside world because they are feeling down. But in the meantime they are also not noticing the fact that their friends might need them. And this is so true to reality. This is so typical of being a teenager. You don’t have to explicitly think the world revolves around you, but sometimes you do act like it. And I like that these characters were real enough to have that happen to them, it just makes them feel their age.

All in all I just absolutely adored this book! If you haven’t read it yet, you should definitely pick it up!

One thought on “Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door–Stephanie Perkins | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

