Never let me go – Mark Romanek

Never let me go is a story that follows three children, Kathy, Tommy and Ruth,  that grow up together at a boarding school. But it’s not a regular boarding school. It’s the place where they will be kept safe until they are ready to become donors. They live in a world sheltered from the real world, they don’t know who their parents are, many people don’t even consider these donors-to-be real people. They are used to save other people’s lives, at the cost of their own. 

First off, I do know that this movie is based on a book, but I have found many different views on it, and not all of them were that good. Lots of people thought the book moved too slow. Because I thought the concept was interesting enough I figured I’d watch the movie first and if I liked it I’d check out the book. 

This movie reminded me a lot of a book that I read earlier, namely Unwind , but this wasn’t a bad thing. I really enjoyed that book, partly because I really liked the concept of this donor system. Though this movie is different in the fact that the children are raised to be donors, which is not the case in Unwind (unless you count the Tithes, which won’t mean anything to you if you haven’t read the book). I find that this always raises a very good question: “how far are people willing to go to cure diseases?”. In a time where so many things are becoming possible, ethics seem to be fading and sometimes it’s not clear where the line will be drawn (what will we and won’t we do to save others?).

I really liked the soundtrack to this movie, it was such an added value to the story. I found that it really lifted the whole up to the next level. It set exactly the right mood for the scenes. The acting is also really good, and done so by an amazing cast (Keira Knightley, Carey Mulligan and Andrew Garfield). It all came across so believable. I really felt for these people and the horrible situation they found themselves in.

I do admit that sometimes I was a bit thrown by some vocabulary. There was completion, originals and possibles. Though in time these became clear, it bugged me a little bit  at first when I didn’t really know what they meant (and therefore missing implications). I guess this would not have been an issue if I had read the book first. But it was good that it became clear on its own, because that means this movie can stand on its own, which is really important if you’re looking at a movie that was based on a book. (Nothing like a movie you can’t understand without having read the book!)

P.S. I’ll probably be reading the book if I can get my hands on it.

Say something!

